Sponsored By

Judges Appointed for Medical Design Excellence AwardsJudges Appointed for Medical Design Excellence Awards

March 9, 2002

3 Min Read
Judges Appointed for Medical Design Excellence Awards

Originally Published MPMN March 2002


Judges Appointed for Medical Design Excellence Awards

0203p6e.jpgA panel of experts has been selected to judge the entries to the Medical Design Excellence Awards (MDEA) 2002 competition. The annual MDEA competition recognizes outstanding achievements in medical devices and medical packaging, as well as the engineers, scientists, and designers who are responsible for these innovations in the healthcare arena.

Each year the program selects an impartial multidisciplinary group of jurors representing engineering, medicine, human factors, industrial design, manufacturing, and other healthcare- and design-related fields. This year's panel comprises the following 10 professionals.

Donald Barcan is president of Donbar Industries Inc. (Long Valley, NJ), a package engineering consulting firm specializing in complete sterile package design services for the medical device industry.

Dale Bevington is cofounder of Indes Design Consultants (London, UK), a firm specializing in product design and development for consumer and industrial products.

Krista Coleman is vice president for R&D at Enhanced Mobility Technologies (Minnetonka, MN) and adjunct faculty member in the Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Department at the University of Minnesota (Minneapolis).

Joseph Dyro is president of the Biomedical Resource Group (Setauket, NY), a professor of biomedical engineering at Touro College (Dix Hills, NY), and an associate professor of anesthesiology at the State University of New York (Stony Brook, NY).

Craig Jackson is president and principal scientist at HemoSaga Diagnostics (San Diego).

Hans Kramer is manager of R&D at Innercool Therapies (San Diego), a medical company developing technologies to protect the brain from damage during periods of ischemia.

Corinna Lathan is president and CEO of AnthroTronix Inc. (College Park, MD), a human factors engineering consulting firm that designs, develops, and tests systems that optimize the human-machine interface.

Eliot Lazar is the jury chair and principal of elCON Medical (Buffalo, NY), a consultancy that provides a unique medical and surgical end-user perspective on medical device market needs and requirements, medical technology trends, and funding strategies.

Tom Marsh is an operating room nurse at Kaiser Permanente Hospital (Woodland Hills, CA) and staff representative for the United Nurses Associations of California (Pomona, CA).

Herbert Voigt is associate chairman for undergraduate affairs and a professor at Boston University's Department of Biomedical Engineering.

The MDEA program is presented by Canon Communications llc and sponsored by MPMN's sister publication, Medical Device & Diagnostic Industry. Corporate sponsors are Battelle (Columbus, OH), Avail (San Diego), DuPont Tyvek (Wilmington, DE), Chevron Phillips/K Resin (Houston), The MedTech Group Inc. (South Plainfield, NJ), and TriVirix International (Chapel Hill, NC).

Winning products will be announced in the winter of 2002 and honored at a ceremony during the Medical Design & Manufacturing East Conference and Exposition, June 4–6, 2002, at the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center in New York City.

Susan Wallace

Copyright ©2002 Medical Product Manufacturing News

Sign up for the QMED & MD+DI Daily newsletter.

You May Also Like