Juror Panel Selected for 2002 Medical Design Excellence Awards

Originally Published MDDI January 2002Juror Panel Selected for 2002 Medical Design Excellence Awards

January 1, 2002

2 Min Read
Juror   Panel Selected for 2002 Medical Design Excellence Awards

Originally Published MDDI January 2002

Juror Panel Selected for 2002 Medical Design Excellence Awards

A multidisciplinary panel of industry experts has been selected for this year's Medical Design Excellence Awards (MDEA) program. The MDEA competition, the premier awards program for the medical technology community, recognizes outstanding achievement in medical device design and packaging and the individuals responsible for developing the cutting-edge innovations that are changing the face of healthcare.

Each year, Canon Communications LLC selects an impartial panel of jurors that will represent engineering, medicine, human factors, industrial design, man-ufacturing, and other healthcare and design-related fields. The panel for the 2002 competition includes the following professionals:

Donald Barcan, president of Donbar Industries Inc. (Long Valley, NJ), a package engineering consulting firm specializing in complete sterile package design services for the medical device industry; Dale Bevington, cofounder of Indes Design Consultants (London), a firm specializing in product design and development for consumer and industrial products; Krista Coleman, vice president for R&D at Enhanced Mobility Technologies (Minnetonka, MN) and adjunct faculty member in the Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Department at the University of Minnesota (Minneapolis); Joseph Dyro, president of the Biomedical Resource Group (Setauket, NY), professor of biomedical engineering at Touro College (Dix Hills, NY) and an associate professor of anesthesiology at the State University of New York (Stony Brook, NY); Craig Jackson, president and principal scientist at HemoSaga Diagnostics (San Diego); Hans Kramer, manager of R&D at Innercool Therapies (San Diego), a medical company developing technologies to protect the brain from damage during periods of ischemia; Corinna Lathan, president and CEO of AnthroTronix Inc. (College Park, MD), a human factors engineering consulting firm that designs, develops, and tests systems that optimize the human-machine interface; Eliot Lazar (Jury Chair), principal of elCON Medical (Buffalo, NY), a consultancy that provides a unique end-user medical/surgical perspective on medical device market needs and requirements, medical technology trends, and funding strategies; Tom Marsh, operating room nurse at Kaiser Permanente Hospital (Woodland Hills, CA) and staff representative for the United Nurses Associations of California (Pomona, CA); and Herbert Voigt, associate chairman for undergraduate affairs and a professor at Boston University's department of biomedical engineering.

This year's award-winning products will be announced in the winter of 2002 and honored at a ceremony during the Medical Design & Manufacturing East Conference and Exposition, June 4–6, 2002, at New York City's Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The MDEA program is sponsored by Battelle, Avail, DuPont Tyvek, Chevron Phillips/K Resin, The MedTech Group Inc., and TriVirix International. Medical Device & Diagnostic Industry is the program's sponsoring publication.

Gregg Nighswonger

Copyright ©2002 Medical Device & Diagnostic Industry

Sign up for the QMED & MD+DI Daily newsletter.

You May Also Like