Originally Published MDDI April 2002IVD SUPPLEMENT

April 1, 2002

1 Min Read
Standards Development Organizations

Originally Published MDDI April 2002


A number of chartered and de facto standards organizations and consortia help to define the standards for the medical and healthcare industries. In addition, many of the standards developed by these groups are passed along to national and international chartered standards development organizations for broader consensus approval, which increases the appeal and value of the standards. These latter organizations include:

  • ANSI—American National Standards Institute.

  • ASC X12—Accredited Standards Committee X12 (EDI).

  • IEC—International Electrotechnical Commission.

  • IEEE—Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

  • ISO—International Organization for Standardization.

  • UN/EDFACT—United Nations Electronic Data Interchange for Administration, Commerce and Transport.

Copyright ©2002 Medical Device & Diagnostic Industry

Sign up for the QMED & MD+DI Daily newsletter.

You May Also Like