AAMI Honors Medtech Contributors 5931

AAMI awarded nine professionals in the device industry for their contributions to medical technology. See the list below:

July 21, 2010

2 Min Read
AAMI Honors Medtech Contributors
  • AAMI Foundation Laufman-Greatbach Prize—Neal E. Fearnot, PhD, founder and president of the MED Institute and Cook Biotech Inc. both based in West Lafayette, IN, for his endeavors to make devices that save patient lives, including the world's first exercise responsive pacemaker and first handheld electrocardiogram (ECG) machine.

  • AAMI Clinical/Biomedical Engineering Achievement Award—Binseng Wang, vice president of performance management and regulatory compliance at ARAMARK in Charlotte, for his work to enhance and improve medical equipment management though the use of scheduled maintenance strategies.

  • AAMI/BD Professional Achievement Award—Tomasz Tkaczyk, assistant professor of bioengineering at Rice University in Houston, for the creation of a miniature optical imaging system that is inexpensive, portable, and adaptable to mass production.

  • AAMI/GE Healthcare BMET of the Year Award—Kelly VanDeWalker, a BMET V at Community Health Network in Indianapolis, for his volunteer efforts gathering biomedical equipment for overseas, the local zoo, and for his instrumental involvement in the Indiana Biomedical Society.

  • AAMI Foundation/ACCE Robert L. Morris Humanitarian Award—Thomas Judd, MS, CCE, and Brad Carrott. Judd, national project director of clinical technology at Kaiser Permanente in Atlanta, GA, has led and coordinated clinical engineering workshops in more than 60 countries. Carrott, senior administrative director of biomed/security for Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare System in Salinas, CA, has helped coordinate at least 15 major medical projects for developing countries.

  • AAMI Foundation/Institute for Technology in Health Care Clinical Application Award—Elliot B. Sloane, PhD, CCE, FHIMSS, director of health systems engineering at Drexel University in Philadelphia and founder of the Center for Healthcare Information Research and Policy, who helped to introduce and implement information technologies and ease the convergence between clinical engineering and information technology.

  • Standards Developer Award—Dave Osborn, senior manager of international standards at Philips Healthcare in Andover, MA, who has taken a leadership role in the implementation and development of numerous standards on alarms, small bore connectors, and more.

  • Standards Developer Award—Mike Scholla, a senior consultant for Dupont in Wilmington, DE, for his expertise in the development of numerous medical packaging and sterilization standards.

Each of the individuals was recognized at a luncheon in late June during AAMI's Annual Conference & Expo in Tampa, FL.

Sign up for the QMED & MD+DI Daily newsletter.

You May Also Like