2011 MDEA Jury Panel

Posted by tblair on April 7, 2011

This year's submissions were judged by a diverse group of professors, surgeons, CEOs, and innovators.

Jim Best is a founding partner and principal of Pensa (New York City), a strategic design consultancy. Best started his career designing medical equipment for companies such as Becton Dickinson, Biomedic Data Systems, and Bayer Diagnostics. Best’s work has been recognized with awards such as Businessweek / IDEA gold, the Medical Design Excellence Award, and the Chicago Athenaeum Good Design award.
Clay Burns is a consultant, engineer, and lecturer on integrating technology, design, and user needs to bring consumer and medical products to life. Burns works with entrepreneurial start-ups focused on building better products for society. His work and collaborations have received awards from IDEA/IDSA, Good Design, CES, Red Dot, and ID magazine. Clay is an adjunct professor of product design at the Wharton School.
Peter M. Denk, MD, is a surgeon specializing in laparoscopic and incisionless gastrointestinal surgery. He is building a program in Fort Myers, FL, to offer minimally invasive treatments for conditions such as reflux, gallbladder disease, colon problems, and obesity. Denk most recently served as the director of endoscopic surgery at Bluegrass Bariatrics in Lexington, KY. He is a member of the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons, the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, and is involved in the Natural Orifice Surgery Consortium for Assessment and Research. 
Jay R. Goldberg, PhD, PE, is director of the healthcare technologies management program at Marquette University and the Medical College of Wisconsin (Milwaukee). Goldberg is a member of the Biomedical Engineering Society, the National Society of Professional Engineers, and AAMI, and is a consultant to the gastroenterology and urology therapy device panel of FDA’s Medical Device Advisory Committee. He is the cocreator of the Biomedical Engineering Innovation, Design, and Entrepreneurship Award.
Sean Hägen is the founder of BlackHägen Design (Dunedin, FL) and has initiated or is named as coinventor on more than 80 patents. Hägen has launched development projects for Edwards Lifesciences and Zimmer. In projects with Medtronic, Philips, and Terumo, Hägen has contributed to R&D as the principal investigator, project manager, designer, and usability specialist. He is currently the medical section chair for IDSA. Hägen is also a member of the human engineering committee in AAMI, responsible for developing HE 75.  
Craig M. Jackson, PhD, operates a San Diego–based consulting practice and serves as the program director for The Hartwell Foundation, supporting innovative, high-risk pediatric research. He is the retired president of Hemosaga Diagnostics Corp. and is a member of the editorial advisory board for IVD Technology. He is also a member of Working Group 1 of the Joint Committee for Traceability in Laboratory Medicine. Jackson is a fellow of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. 
Stuart Karten is the principal of design and innovation consultancy Stuart Karten Design (SKD; Marina del Rey, CA). He is the former chair of the Los Angeles chapter of IDSA and currently sits on the advisory board to the USC master’s program in medical device and diagnostic engineering. Karten has been named by MD+DI as one of 100 Notable People in the industry, and has won more than 100 of the industry’s most important design awards globally, including MDEA, IDEA, Good Design, and Red Dot. 
Pascal Malassigné, FIDSA, is the senior professor and head of industrial design at the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design and a research scientist and industrial designer at the Milwaukee Veterans Affairs Medical Center. Malassigné is a member of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, the Rehabilitation Engineering Society of North America, and a fellow of IDSA. He helped found and was the first president of the Design Foundation, IDSA’s nonprofit organization. In 2006, Design Intelligence named him one of the nation’s most admired industrial design educators. 
Anne Miller, PhD, is an assistant professor jointly appointed as a researcher to Vanderbilt’s Center for Interdisciplinary Health Workforce Studies, School of Nursing and Center for Research and Innovation in Systems Safety. She previously worked as a registered and critical care nurse. Miller’s current research involves complex healthcare communications related to clinical decision-making and information transfer, handovers, and the continuity and coordination of care within and across acute and critical care settings.
Mary Beth Privitera, M. of Design, is the codirector in the medical device innovation and entrepreneurship program at the University of Cincinnati. She currently serves as a vice president of education for IDSA. She is also a member of the AAMI Human Factors Committee. Privitera belongs to the American Society of Engineering Educators, the Product Development and Management Association, and the Design Management Institute. She has been associated with more than 40 product releases, and holds several patents and provisional patents.
Bryce G. Rutter, PhD is founder and CEO of Metaphase Design Group Inc. (St. Louis, MO). Rutter has been an assistant professor of industrial design at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and has published numerous articles on design, research, and ergonomics. Rutter was named 2009 Inventor of the Year by the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis for his work in combining kinesiology and industrial design, which has resulted in over 95 patents. Rutter is a member of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, the Design Management Institute, and IDSA.
John T. Sinacori, MD, is director of the otolaryngology program and the director of the voice and swallowing center at Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, VA. He is a member of the American Board of Otolaryngology, the American Academy of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, and the American Bronchoesophagology Association and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He has served at the academy level as a member of the Voice Committee and the Airway and Swallowing Committee.



Printer-friendly version
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Login to post comments